History of the School

 

The German School Jakarta began working originally in 1957 in Bandung and moved to Jakarta in 1968. Since 1998, the school was built in a new state-of the-art building, which located in a large-scale area in the clean and safe environment of Bumi Serpong Damai.

German School in Bandung

In the mid-fifties there were almost 150 German doctors engaged in the contract with the Indonesian government under a program of the World Health Organization and sent to work throughout 13,000 islands. They sent their children to the favorable climate of Bandung, where some German, Austrian and Swiss guest lecturers were employed. They taught their own and the doctors’ children on a regular basis.

2015-16 Geschichte DSBandung

In year 1956, the school association German school was established, which was driven primarily by the parents. Volunteer teachers, great improvised force without uniform lesson plan for the operation of a boarding school were pioneering achievements of the founders.

In 1956, the Federal Republic of Germany had purchased the building at Jalan Riau 44 and Mr. Kühne was employed as the first principal. The payment of this first force was hard at subsistence level, as the school had no further financial support.

The school was officially opened on March 29, 1957 in the presence of representatives from the Indonesian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Education and the Governor. Surprisingly, the latter addressed and welcomed the guests in German language and therefore supporting the establishment of the German school. At this time, 25 children were taught in three classes. A year later, there were already 60 students.

German School in Jakarta

The relocation of the German school in Jakarta was decided by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1967. The reasons were related to the political and economic changes in Indonesia that happened since 1965. More and more German experts and merchants came with their families to Indonesia and lived mainly in Jakarta, while the Germans, who worked on different islands of the country before 1965, had mostly returned to Germany. On September 25, 1967 German parents in Jakarta established a parents’ association and on October 2, 1967 the school was opened in the former embassy building in Jl. Dr. Sam Ratulangi, Menteng. 22 children aged 6 to 10 attended the first four classes. The school initially consisted of three teachers.

In the school year of 1970 to 1971 there were already 159 students and 15 teachers. The rooms were insufficient and it had to be rebuilt.

In 1975 to 1976, there were then 224 students and another building had to be rented for kindergarten and first grade in Bintaro.

In 1996, a plot of land was purchased in BSD and on October 27, 1996 the former German Economics Minister, Günther Rexrodt, together with the headmaster, Wolfgang Hinners, led the groundbreaking for the new building.

In 1998, the German school, then called DIS, moved into the new building in BSD, although the number of students fell below 200 due to the political unrest in Jakarta.

In 2001, the first Indonesian students were registered into the Integration Program.

In 2007, Indonesian school branch was opened and the number of pupils increased above 320.

In 2008, the first Indonesian student took the German Abitur.

Geschichte der Schule

Die Deutsche Schule Jakarta begann ihre Arbeit ursprünglich 1957 in Bandung und zog 1968 nach Jakarta um. Seit 1998 ist die Schule in einem neuen state-of the-art -Gebäude unterge­bracht, das sich auf einem weiträumigen Gelände in der sauberen und sicheren Umgebung von Bumi Serpong Damai befindet. Eine kurze Slideshow zur Geschichte der Schule mit vielen alten Schwarz-Weiß-Fotos finden Sie hier.

Deutsche Schule in Bandung

Mitte der fünfziger Jahre waren fast 150 deutsche Ärtzte im Vertrag der indonesischen Regierung im Rahmen eines Programms der Weltgesundheitsorganisation im Reich der 13.000 Inseln beschäftigt. Sie schickten ihre Kinder in das klimatisch begünstigte Bandung, wo einige deutsche, österreichische und Schweizer Gastdozenten tätig waren. Diese unterrichteten ihre eigenen Kinder und die der Ärzte auf freiwillige Basis

2015-16 Geschichte DSBandung

1956 gründete sich daraus der Schulverein Deutsche Schule, welcher in erster Linie von den Eltern getragen wurde. Freiwillige Lehrkräfte, große Improvisationskraft ohne einheitlichen Stundenplan dazu die Betreibung eines Internats waren  Pionierleistungen der Gründer.

1956 konnte die Bundesrepublik Deutschland das Gebäude in der Jalan Riau 44 erwerben und Herrn Kühne, als erste entsandte Kraft als Schulleiter anstellen. Die Bezahlung dieser ersten Kraft lag hart am Existenzminimum da die Schule keine weitere Förderung hatte.

Offiziell wurde die Schule am 29.03.1957 in Anwesenheit von Vertretern des indonesischen Außen- und Unterrichtsministerium und des Gouverneurs eröffnet. Überraschender Weise begrüßte letzterer die Anwesenden Gäste in deutscher Sprache und befürwortete die Errichtung der deutschen Schule. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wurden 25 Kinder in drei Klassengruppen unterrichtet. Ein Jahr später waren es schon 60 Schüler.

Deutsche Schule in Jakarta

Die Verlegung der Deutschen Schule nach Jakarta wurde vom Auswärtigen Amt 1967 beschlossen. Gründe dafür hingen mit den politischen und wirtschaftlichen Veränderungen in Indonesien seit 1965 zusammen. Mehr und mehr deutsche Experten und Kaufleute kamen mit ihren Familien nach Indonesien und lebten vorwiegend in Jakarta, während die Deutschen, die vor 1965 auf verschiedenen Inseln des Landes tätig waren, zum großen Teil nach Deutschland zurückgekehrt waren.  Am 25.09.1967 gründeten deutsche Eltern in Jakarta einen Elternbeirat und am 02.10.1967 wurde die Schule im ehemaligen Botschaftsgebäude in der Jl. Dr. Sam Ratulangi, Menteng eröffnet. 22 Kinder von 6- 10 Jahren besuchten die ersten vier Klassen. Das Kollegium bestand zunächst aus drei Lehrern.

2016-01 Geschichte DSL 01

Im Schuljahr 1970-71 waren es schon 159 Schüler und 15 Lehrer. Die Räume wurden knapp und es musste Umgebaut werden.

1975-76 waren es schon 224 Schüler und es musste ein weiteres Gebäude für den Kindergarten und die erste Klasse in Bintaro angemietet werden.

1996 wurde das Grundstück in BSD erworben und am 27.10.1996 führte der damalige deutsche Wirtschaftsminister Günther Rexrodt zusammen mit dem Schulleiter Wolfgang Hinners den ersten Spatenstich für den Neubau.

1998 bezog die Deutsche Schule damals Dis genannt den Neubau in BSD obwohl die Schülerzahl bedingt durch die politischen Unruhen in Jakarta unter 200 gesunken war.

2001 wurden die ersten indonesischen Schüler in das Programm Integrasi aufgenommen.

2007 wurde der indonesische Schulzweig eröffnet und die Schülerzahlen steigen über 320.

2008 legen die ersten indonesischen Schüler das deutsche Abitur ab.